‘Rude’ Wedding Invitation Goes Viral for Ranking Guests in Groups

As the COVID-19 crisis caused restrictions against gatherings, social venues have also imposed limits on the number of people allowed to attend events. So, it is easy to understand that weddings and other special events might only have a limited number guests.

There are a number of ways to go about this, in terms of sending invitations to guests. After all, everyone knows that large gatherings are not allowed!

But a couple recently went viral after netizens got angry at their ‘rude’ wedding invitation for ranking their guests in groups! In the invitation, guests are apparently grouped into three groups. But Group A appears to be of a higher rank than the two other groups.

Dear friends and family,

Please understand that our venue is limited in the number of guests we will be able to accommodate for our wedding day. As much as we would love to have each and every one of you join us on our big day, we are forced to split our guests into groups to ensure we do not surpass our capacity restrictions.

Shared by Mary von Aue (@von_owie) on Twitter, the person who received the invitation belongs to Group A. But netizens are joking that this person just got demoted to Group C after posting the photo! Uh-oh.

Photo credit: Mary von Aue (@von_owie) / Twitter

In the invitation, those in Group A are instructed to “RSVP as soon as possible”. It is clear that those in Group A are all allowed to join the event. If they are unable to attend, they are invited to promptly tell the couple so that the vacant seats can be assigned to other guests – that means people in Groups B and C.

As for those in the ‘lower ranks’, they are told to “keep a close watch on our wedding website for notice that we have space available”. This irked a lot of netizens who think that the couple feel so entitled!

My fav part is ‘Please keep a close eye on our website for availability.’ Like you’re that special that someone is checking your site constantly! & If I was group B or C I’d just send this response, ‘I opt out of this & all future correspondence. Thanks!’” one netizen wrote.

Sure, it’s just weird to tell people they’re on the backup list,” another commented.